Glorious Benefits


mail.google.com

In my most recent post, What’s the Word for 2013?,  I announced that the word, indeed the reason I was created, was going to be “Glory!”  Since New Year’s Day, I have tried to keep this word in the forefront of my mind and what a week, albeit a short work week, it has been!

In a number of previous posts I have described the kind of work I do and the tremendously intense conditions in which I and my colleagues must operate on a daily, in fact 24/7/365 basis.  It is very , very difficult to keep focused on positives in any meaningful, realistic way when the people we supervise, their victims, the families of both these, and our superiors are often functioning in dysfunctional, crisis to crisis ways.

In my case, with 24 staff, many of them absent for the holidays, court in full swing, and the business of public safety to conduct, I found myself the lone leader of these men and women. I could have felt oppressed, sick with the “blue flu” of self doubt and worry, thrown in the towel  knowing the turmoil of completing 5 days work in 3, but instead I did this:

  • Prayed the Holy Spirit’s guidance and protection prior to entering the building
  • Thanking my God and Father for the Spirit’s anointing and the full-bodied protection of the whole armor
  • Praised my Lord Jesus for giving me the opportunity to glorify Him and not myself for any successes

Remember what I have said often in my writing and commit to do this daily-Draw close to Him and He will draw close to YOU!  There is no substitute for this relationship. No amount of earthly wealth, or property, or any other form of man-made comfort that matches this beautiful relationship.

And this same God who takes care of me will supply all your needs from his glorious riches, which have been given to us in Christ Jesus. Philippians 4:19

This is how I glorify God. I recognize that when I do what little I’m capable of doing for Him first, then for my family, and my employer, He reaches out to me with His hand of bottomless and never-ending faith and gives even greater reasons to glorify Him!  In this I know that I am growing closer, and He likewise, and greater and greater glory comes. By doing this the following major, tangible results came to me and my family in the last 72 hours:

  • We put our house on the market Thursday and it has been shown 3 times ( a bidding war is expected).
  • With a short staff, my officers found and arrested two violent career offenders, one of whom threatened to kill hundreds at an Epiphany event on Monday and the other trying to make on Internet connection for a sexual liaison with a minor.
  • All the reports for the end of the year were completed in minutes instead of hours as often is the case.
  • And I am remembering these things to glorify Him and give you hope, when in the past I never would have cared beyond my own interests.

If you have no such relationship I urge you to start today and remember:

“So don’t worry about these things, saying, ‘What will we eat? What will we drink? What will we wear?’ These things dominate the thoughts of unbelievers, but your heavenly Father already knows all your needs. Seek the Kingdom of God above all else, and live righteously, and he will give you everything you need.  Matthew 6:31-33

images1

4 thoughts on “Glorious Benefits

Leave a Reply

