What’s The Word for 2013?


mail.google.comMy lovely, wise, and talented wife Sandy, author of the blog Uncompromising, joined a movement of blog writers in early 2012. The movement has as its goal the changing of individual lives by focusing on one word that would change their lives, as well as the lives of others, by redefining who they are as people by making this word the center of who they are in every aspect of their lives.

For a number of months one word in particular has made its way into many aspects of my life, but I really didn’t recognize it, much less focus on it, until now.  As a church elder, Bible teacher, and even as a leader at work, this word has made its way into my conversations enough that I want to know more about it, focus on it, and become one who performs on this basis.

With prayer, worship, and study, this word– a word many will recognize as God’s manifest presence, indeed His manifest perfection–can come to dominate me as other words, and their associated emotions, have dominated me in the past.

Ugly words like bitterness, anger, back-biting, gossiping, betrayal, malice, scorn and many others that have taken over my life in times past and which have overtaken many, including some with whom I worship and with whom I work everyday will no longer have a hold on me as I take the path that this word will define from here on!

Are you ready?

Here it goes:  GLORY!

That’s right, glory.  What does this mean to me, to my family, to you?  It means returning to the reason my loving God creating you and me to begin with.  God’s Word uses ‘glory in over 200 different contexts and is found throughout the Bible.

In addition to its use to describe why God created us, it is also, and mainly, used to describe how God honors Himself by how He honors the faithful: Those who trust in Him and seek His Son Jesus for salvation.  It  is so rich in meaning, and completeness!

We see the Shekinah Glory of God in the pillars of cloud and fire which separated the Hebrews from their persecutors in Exodus. We will see the Glory of God on Mt. Zion when Jesus returns in His Glory at the end of this age in Isaiah’s vision. God’s glory is revealed to us in the heavens and on earth even as I am writing this!

Dear reader, if you are not moved by what you read in Scripture to shout “GLORY!” you are missing out on that which the Creator, Whom we are to worship placed you here and for which the honor you’re due from Him is promised.

Just as he honored and glorified many in Scripture from Joseph 4,000 years ago to you, yes YOU and me, if you changed your focus from things of this world, to things in His Kingdom.

Finally remember this:

Now the Lord is the Spirit, and where the Spirit of the Lord is, there is freedom. And we all, with unveiled face, beholding the glory of the Lord, are being transformed into the same image from one degree of glory to another. For this comes from the Lord who is the Spirit. 2 Corinthians 3:17-18

I want to encourage you, dear reader, whatever your word is make it a positive, life changing, life affirming, word that changes who you are at your core. Not a New Year’s Resolution, but a new you dedicated to someone far larger and of infinitely greater import than your annual wishlist.

Have a wonderfully blessed, peaceful, and prosperous 2013 under the guidance of The Holy Spirit who dwells in the heart of every saved believer in Him Who is Faithful and True, Jesus Christ.

6 thoughts on “What’s The Word for 2013?

  1. I just had to stop by and “meet” the person who selected the ONE WORD as me – GLORY! I love your thoughts on your study of this amazing but sometimes puzzling word. Have a God-filled GLORIOUS year 🙂

Leave a Reply

