The All-Twitching Eye


 

Here’s something I, and probably many like me, are struggling with these days: Careerism that goes over the top and outpaces our wildest description of idolatry. 

A post I wrote some time back called Lessons in Vanity comes to mind tonight, as I sit in my hotel room watching CNBC’s American Greed. Tomorrow I am joining with fellow professionals from my agency to hammer out training and team building as we try to build a leadership development program that will hopefully identify, train, and mentor future leaders at a sustainable pace.

Herein lies the danger to me. It might be the reason I wrote what I did yesterday in Walking the Walk.  Working myself to the point that I forget what God did for me. How He saved my life from myself, my careerism, my idolatry.  That thing which put me at odds with my Father and Lord Jesus Christ by saying, in effect, “thanks you two, I’ll take it from here!”

I know, I know. Foolish beyond measure. Striving, stressing, so much so that my eye twitches amid the stress I create for myself. It worries my wife and son. It should worry me more than it does.  It landed me in the hospital and out of work for months the last time I let it get the best of me. And it deprived my family of the best I could have given them back then.

I want to please God, my wife and son, and my employer, pretty much in that order.  I don;t want to fall back into the traps of past choices.

I heard part of this in church today: 

Come and see what the Lord has done,
    the desolations he has brought on the earth.
 He makes wars cease
    to the ends of the earth.
He breaks the bow and shatters the spear;
    he burns the shields with fire.
 He says, “Be still, and know that I am God;
    I will be exalted among the nations,
    I will be exalted in the earth.”  Psalm 46:8-10

I identify closely with the scenes of desolation. I’ve come very close to ruining my and my families lives more than once because of how I idolized earthly things above the Kingdom of God. I should have been seeking this kingdom first and foremost but have not.  I repent of this and will start anew tomorrow morning.

I encourage you all to do so also.  God bless you mightily!

2 thoughts on “The All-Twitching Eye

  1. Excellent post, Scott! So many struggle with this and your advice is solid. I am thanking God that you continue to win your struggle and pray that it will always be so. Have a wonderful week and enjoy putting your law enforcement experience to good use for the future of the department. In the meantime, “be still and know that He is God”. Love you, Jan

Leave a Reply

