Walking the Walk


 

Lately, I find myself a little void of feeling where once my enthusiasm for worship, and prayer, and reading the Word once consumed my habits every day.  I don’t know why this is but I do know that for me, a saved believer once on fire for Christ and all He did for me, this is a most dangerous development.

I want to get back to that blissful and all consuming practice that C. S. Lewis  described:

I pray because I can’t help myself. I pray because I’m helpless. I pray because the need flows out of me all the time- waking and sleeping. It doesn’t change God- it changes me.

For me, for you, for God’s glory-His manifested perfection-in Christ Who is our Model-let’s get back on track and don the armor He gave us remembering always:

For the word of God is alive and active. Sharper than any double-edged sword, it penetrates even to dividing soul and spirit, joints and marrow; it judges the thoughts and attitudes of the heart.Hebrews 4:12

Three things are essential to us to avoid the apathy I find myself dangerously close to:

  1. Get into the prayers again with the same fervor we see old C. S. engaging in above.
  2. Stand on the Word, which is alive and the metal from which our armor is forged
  3. Get with stalwarts in worship and GLORIFY GOD in every way you can think of

It is a hard thing to realize when the candle is flickering in it’s final glow but you can light a new one as long as the flame is lit, even if it’s only a little bit.  But you can’t allow it to burn out. If your light has gone out there are always people who are doing the three things I describe above that God has put in your path to help you get back on track to glorifying Him.

My prayer is for God to open your eyes to see who they are and lead you back to Him.

Bless you all mightily!

Leave a Reply

