Well Pleased


Got some great news today!  My son, who struggles mightily with some of his academic studies in high school, passed  all of his semester exams quite comfortably.

Tim has distinguished himself in a great many ways in his brief life and is now almost 18 and a senior in his Christian high school. Not least of his accomplishments, and one his mother and I are very proud of , is his two years of membership on the varsity football team as a defensive lineman and special teams player. He begged us to allow him to do this from his freshman year but we, very mistakenly, kept him from this for fear of injury and fear that his grades would suffer, too.

When we finally relented in time for the spring scrimmage his sophomore year, it was with the proviso that there would be no complaint about pain, suffering or quitting. He agreed and to this day, he has never uttered a word of regret despite injury and defeats, even though his team’s best record was 5 wins and 5 losses this year. The record is not the important thing here, though.

What he learned as a teammate and player is of every importance. He grew in pride for himself and what he proved capable of doing, beyond all of our expectations. Heck, I was never a football player ( it took one good block from a kid who knew how to block to convince me to take up water sports and soccer)!  He learned to plan, prepare and execute as a member of a group of like-minded young men and to act with passion for what he believed. Believed about himself, his team, and his Lord.

This has carried to other, more important, aspects of his life especially academics. God has used this to train me, too as both father and husband to a wonderful wife who is often much more wise in her handling of things to do with Tim than I am. What I am most often reminded of is this:

Fathers, do not provoke your children to anger by the way you treat them. Rather, bring them up with the discipline and instruction that comes from the Lord. Ephesians 6:4

My son is nearly 6 feet 6 inches of defensive lineman and I am no longer in an advantageous physical position to handle him in that way. God is my best ally, and He has shown me that leading Tim in a godly way is best for his development as a man, and mine as a husband and father. 

God has shown Tim that service has a great many rewards and his efforts as a team player have resulted in school awards for acts of public service. It is in this effort I am most proud of him because it shows those who are most important to his mom and I just what Tim is capable of doing in his own initiative.

In so many ways Tim exemplifies things at his age that I wish I had when I was 17. No matter how long it takes us, may we all as dads be able to say of our sons:

“You are my Son, whom I love; with you I am well pleased.” Luke 3:22

This will mark a slight departure for this blog as I venture in a new direction more focused on fatherhood, marriage, and God’s role in both arenas. If you know of any great stories you would like to share in this regard, I would like to hear them and use them in my blog.

Bless you all!


Leave a Reply

