The Proverbs 31 Wife


Today is Sandy’s and my 22nd wedding anniversary and what a great day it has been so far! Restful, happy, and blessed in so many ways. The flowers arrived right on time-at home, after so many years of sending them to her office where she usually is on our anniversary (me, too). Later on, we’ll be off to the Melting Pot for a long, romantic evening which is rare for us these days.

We have so much to focus on at work, at church, and at our son’s school. He is a senior this year,  and every bit of extra energy we can muster is focused on his graduation in five and a half months from now. We are struggling mightily toward this end.

If you have read any of my previous posts you may have come to the conclusion that I am as angst ridden as my son Tim and have things in my life to overcome, much less lead at work and in our home. This is the key, though: OUR HOME. As the oldest of three growing up, I was raised to be the “man of the house” when my dad was traveling. I took it seriously, too. Boss of bosses to my younger brother and sister, if you will. And while I may have taken it seriously, it didn’t translate well into adult life and thus the need for a Proverbs 31 woman for me to be partnered with until death.

We have a quaint little five word phrase we often use to remind one another of our marriage obligation. You might be guessing the phrase “I love you so much!”   But you would be wrong. Sure we do tell each other that and often. We mean it when we say it and we never part company without saying words like that.  No, the phrase that gets a lot play in our house is, “You have to sleep sometime!”

Ominous, menacing, even threatening, you might be thinking. Not at all. It is a funny way we have to remind ourselves that we are partners in the labors of our home. Every decision, small, medium, or large is shared where it affects our family. When we say this, we are reminding ourselves of this partnership and how easy decision-making in matters that might be a little, shall we say, controversial if only one of us had to make them.

And here is the main reason I am so blessed: My wife has, in effect, rescued me by her virtuous life and the wisdom with which she has governed herself, and our affairs-most particularly the upbringing of our loving, obedient son.

I did not find the excellent wife of Proverbs 31. God Himself gave her to me as His gift. It was not earned by any diligent act of obedience on my part, either. My life before that was a tawdry, disobedient, carnal mess.  It was an act of His divine grace that united us!  A reminder to me from Him, “that’s right Scott, you do need to sleep sometime, but you will never be alone because I have answered your prayer and you will see what virtue, wisdom, and kindness really are in a woman”.

And that is the Proverbs 31 wife that Sandy has become. She had the right seeds planted in her long before we ever met. She has planted those seeds in our son, too and we will see what wonderful things sprout from that young man in God’s good time. Her seeds continue to germinate and yield good fruit to many, myself included.

The heart of her husband trusts in her and he will have no lack of gain.  She does him good and not evil all the days of her life. Strength and dignity are her clothing and she smiles at the future. She opens her mouth in wisdom, and the teaching of kindness is on her tongue. Proverbs 31:11-12 & 25-26

This is my beloved wife, Sandy. The last part of this Proverb is my prayer for her until we see Christ face to face:

Give her the product of her hands, and let her works praise her in the gates. Proverbs 31:31

Would that all men find a woman like mine or see their marriages become the profound blessing that mine has become.

God bless you all mightily!



4 thoughts on “The Proverbs 31 Wife

  1. Wonderful blog, Scott! Beautifully written and beautifully expressed thoughts. We are so proud of your marriage and the work you’ve done to continue to make it grow. We pray for you both what we have claimed for ourselves, “Grow old along with me, the best in life is yet to be; the last of life for which the first was made”. Love you both!

    Jan and Walt

    • Thanks so much, Jan. I love you and Walt both so very much. I know the biggest reason Sandy is such a blessing to me is because of the blessing you and Walt have been to her in the past, and will be in the future. You both have always been a source of great inspiration to our family.

  2. Hi,
    I am writing a book called “So…How Did You Meet Anyway?” It is a collection of all types of people’s “how we met” stories.
    I have posted the stories which have been sent in on;
    So…How Did You Meet Anyway?
    http://wwwsohowdidyoumeet.blogspot.com/
    I am always shopping for stories and I would like to add yours. Please check out the site, and if you would like to contribute your “how we met” story contact me at;
    susan.amestoy@gmail.com
    And if you would like any more information about the blog or the upcoming book, here is a link to a television interview I did recently.
    http://www.wcax.com/story/14708398/author-collecting-love-stories

    Take care and…congratulations!
    Susan

Leave a Reply

