Dreary Sunday: A Writer’s Block Sledgehammer


Two and half hours home from church, where my wife and I taught a lesson in discipleship and had some fun with our 17 year old son. He runs a spotlight so high in the sky that I would be afraid to be up there with him.

So after a 90 minute praise, worship, prayer and message session, and the aforementioned teaching, we return home to a semi-dark house and open the windows for the cool, wet fall breeze.

This writing exercise I’m engaging in is something of an act of desperation. I haven’t written daily as I know I should and would like to so this is really just me following the advice of another blog-writer and getting something down which includes a description of my immediate surroundings.

My wife, Sandy and son Tim are both lounging on the loveseat and sofa, respectively, watching something or an other on television. Me being a Formula 1 racing fan, just finished watching the Grand Prix of Japan where British driver Jenson Button won and young German Sebastian Vettel just won his second consecutive World Championship.

My cat Eddie is lying beside my rocker as I type this. He’s about 10 years old and more like a dog than a cat. Very demanding, affectionate, and loyal. He meows incessantly when we leave for the day and when we return, as if to say, “Mommy! Daddy! I’m so pleased you’re not dead!”

Soon, I will start to consider what tomorrow at work holds and commit it to my Lord. Committing my way to Him is the only chance I have at success in what has become the virile madness of my profession in community corrections as we practice it in Florida.

I pray I don’t have to endure the poor attitudes of those who says things like what I heard on Friday: ” We work like slaves around this place for nuthin'”. This is a well paid woman with children and a profession that exposes her to nothing more than anyone else. In fact, less than most. Fortunately she doesn’t work for me in my office. I was just helping out in the one she happens to work in. Just another sign of the breakage in the world, I guess.

My wife’s favorite Bible verse is hanging on some wall or other in our house and is a good place to start as I plan:

 Trust in the LORD with all your heart
and lean not on your own understanding;
in all your ways acknowledge him,
and he will make your paths straight. Proverbs 3:5-6

Well, enough for now, dear reader. Have a blessed, peaceful, and joyous week.

2 thoughts on “Dreary Sunday: A Writer’s Block Sledgehammer

Leave a Reply

