What Will You Do?


Time is short, what will you do?  

In the aftermath of the terrorist attacks if 9/11 on our home soil ten years ago chaos, tragedy, pain, and fear ruled the streets of the United States. Nobody really knew how short the time was, or what to do. The scary part was just beginning. Blank looks of fear, overwhelming burden and astonishment were shockingly visible on the faces of our leadersMy memories of congressmen and women on the capitol lawn singing patriotic songs signalling to me just how adrift we were, and in many ways are, as a nation.

Most disturbing of all to me were the images of those who fell or jumped to their deaths from the twin towers and the interminable dust of the rubble that remained.  Then the collapse of the buildings. My wife lost a friend and a classmate, Matt McDermott who worked in one of them. Selfishly, I was glad I didn’t get that job in Human Resources at Chase-Manhattan Bank which I interviewed for in 1986 on the 41st floor of Tower 1.

For those we memorialized today, time was very short. All I can think of now is how different my mindset is now compared to 10 years ago. Then, I was a much more concerned with revenge on our enemies and malice for those who spoke with vitriol against my country. They killed over 3,000 of my countrymen and we were entitled to our measure of payback, weren’t we? Attacks into Afghanistan and Pakistan were a great idea and couldn’t take place fast enough to suit me.

For me, things seemed to go awry when, after 2 years, someone thought attacking Iraq was a great idea. I remember the last big argument I had with my dad was over politics in 2004, when I thought we were way off track and felt matters slipping out of our political leaders control again.

Fast forward a decade. I think now, that national matters have definitely deteriorated and our leaders are clean out of ideas how to heal our affairs be they economic, cultural, or political.  Honorable compromise for the sake of the nation no longer is tolerated. Ideologues have long dominated, swinging from the neocons (neoconservatives) of George W. Bush’s day to the extreme liberals that hold the reins now, under Barack Obama.

Time is short for America and maybe for mankind, too.  One of our founding fathers, John Adams, understood our true foundations perhaps better than any other American in history and never lost track of these principles:

The general principles on which the fathers achieved independence were the general principles of Christianity. I will avow that I then believed, and now believe, that those general principles of Christianity are as eternal and immutable as the existence and attributes of God.

Knowing this, what will we do? What will you do? Your families, friends, co-workers?  We Christians have a responsibility to a loving God, who commands the affairs of kings, queens, prime ministers, and presidents down to the most vile of tin pot dictators. One of the saddest things of the last week to me was the statement made by New York City Mayor Michael Bloomberg that all 9/11 events and memorials would have no religious speeches or references of any kind. Indeed, nothing I saw today indicated anything of a religious nature at all.


We are a Christian nation, like it or not, and our fortunes as a free nation are directly tied to God’s favor for us and our obedience to him. Time is short and God’s favor seems to be slipping through our grasp more and more. Once it is gone, there will be no national redemption.  There is always a remnant of faithful believers, like me and my family, who believe that national redemption is possible if we follow through with what the prophet said in 2 Chronicles 7:14:

If My people who are called by My name humble themselves and pray and seek My face and turn from their wicked ways, then I will hear from heaven, will forgive their sin and will heal their land.

What will you do?  You must ask yourself.  One morning 10 years ago over 3,000 of your brothers and sisters didn’t get to answer that question for themselves. God alone knows the answers to all of your questions and wants you to decide what to do. He is the answer and He gave His Son Jesus Christ, the Faithful and True to help you, guide you, comfort and love you, without reservation or holding back in any way. Do this-accept Him!  I did and my life is completely different, infinitely better, and my fate assured along with my family’s too.

If we as individuals, and collectively as a nation do not decide what to do or decide incorrectly, here is what God will do. This is not a threat but a promise from a patient, and loving father, who must let those who reject Him go:

And just as they did not see fit to acknowledge God any longer, God gave them over to a depraved mind, to do those things which are not proper,  being filled with all unrighteousness, wickedness, greed, evil; full of envy, murder, strife, deceit, malice; they are gossips,  slanderers, haters of God, insolent, arrogant, boastful, inventors of evil, disobedient to parents,  without understanding, untrustworthy, unloving, unmerciful;  and although they know the ordinance of God, that those who practice such things are worthy of death, they not only do the same, but also give hearty approval to those who practice them. Romans 1:28-32

Time is short. Don’t be your own victim. Knowing these things now, what will you do?

Leave a Reply

