No Accidents


For some time now I have been persuading myself and others that in God’s grand design there are no accidents. There are only things we didn’t foresee or, perhaps, plan for.

Interestingly, I’ve come to this realization after many months of review of my own life and the events that have taken place in it and how they are connected to other events in not only my life, but the lives of those I’m connected to, even if it’s only a minor contact. What I am finding is that these “minor” brushes with people often become much more important later on. Long ago I remember hearing, “be nice to the people you meet on the way up, because you’ll meet them on the way down”.

Paul wrote in Ephesians 1:3-4:

Blessed be the God and Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, who has blessed us with every spiritual blessing in the heavenly places in Christ,  just as He chose us in Him before the foundation of the world, that we would be holy and blameless before Him.

The vastness of the idea across time and space that these verses represent to me are almost too big to get my mind around.

BEFORE THE FOUNDATION OF THE WORLD, WE WERE CHOSEN!

This may be a stretch for some of you but what would you do, if you acknowledged this as immutable truth?

Wouldn’t you have lived differently? Raised your children as if this were the most important thing in life?


Imagine the impact on your world if the youngest among us held this as one of their first important ideas. Ideas like “Honor your mother and father”.

Knowing this, what would you teach them to do?

What impact would you want them to have on even the most casual of relationships?

The world hates the idea of Big Brother and is skeptical and cynical of huge ideas, like an all-knowing, all-seeing, ever-present being. God Almighty…timeless and space-less. The light before everything else was created. Who created us for His glory and who provides everything good. Who wants us to honor Him by recognizing the immutable, absolute truth of His existence, His order, and His sacrifice to save us from what our world no longer recognizes as bad things. What we used to call sin.

We will soon see the reality of an absolute truth. I know that I will have to answer to my Father for how I raised my son. I wish I had believed these truths and taught them to him when he was much younger.


Do you believe in accidents?

After all I’ve been through the past several years in my career, with my health, and my faith I certainly do not. Paul said it best in Romans 8:28:

And we know that God causes all things to work together for good to those who love God, to those who are called according to His purpose.

Here’s news for you: Whether you believe it, or not, you were called according to His purpose. You have a choice to acknowledge that or not.

If you do, you will acknowledge the big idea that He knew you before the foundation of the world and He loves you and wants you to be filled with joy and success. He wants you to be a blessing to others. That’s how He is glorified and why He created us.

You have a golden opportunity to be a glowing, bright light in the darkness of the lost world we inhabit. Or you can go on in the current darkness, struggling, confused and not feeling the joy of a relationship with Abba (Papa, Pop, Dad, Daddy) Father. Most often, these folks become object lessons in the true order of things.

Remember, no accidents.

The question always remains: what will you do?

2 thoughts on “No Accidents

Leave a Reply

