Who Bows Before God’s Throne?


Well, you could have knocked me over with a feather Sunday night. Upon learning of the one thing that is bigger than the royal wedding, and one of our last space shuttle flights: The death of Osama bin Laden. The four day news cycle trumped indeed!

No jokes about virgins here. Leave that to the world. bin Laden is certainly dead but the overriding thought in my mind is this: 

That at the name of Jesus every knee should bow,

in heaven and on earth and under the earth, and every tongue confess

that Jesus Christ is Lord,

to the glory of God the Father. Phil 2:10-11

 When I think of the fate of clearly evil people like this, people who revel in their murders and give glory to their god for having done so, and the fact that they will be biding their time in death waiting for all of us to appear-perhaps in a massive group of billions-before the Throne of Grace, whether we believed in God and loved Him, or not, I also think of myself standing beside them,  wondering if they will have to be forced to confess or if they will be as repulsively defiant, profane, and wicked in thought, word, and deed then as they were in life.

The next thought I have is of me and the repulsively defiant, profane, and wicked thoughts, words, and deeds that I am responsible for and for which, thankfully, I repented of and turned to my loving God for His forgiveness. For years I was never as sure as I am now, whether I was truly repentant or just going through the motions without the commensurate change of heart that should come with a true, Spirit-led turnaround. 

Paul said of himself and us in Romans 7-“For I know that nothing good dwells in me, that is, in my flesh; for the willing is present in me, but the doing of the good is not. For the good that I want, I do not do, but I practice the very evil that I do not want. But if I am doing the very thing I do not want, I am no longer the one doing it, but sin which dwells in me.”

This leads us to who bows.  It is clear that every one of us does, including those who never knew Jesus Christ directly. I don’t think it will be a comforting experience for anyone. Some will be cast out to eternal punishment away from God’s presence. bin Laden will be one of those. So will many far less notorious criminals. The falsely repentant, those who misuse the Word of God, idolators, adulterers, and countless others. So many that my small mind can’t begin to grasp. These are not for me, or you, to judge. God Himself reserves that right and He is entitled.

As for me and my house, we will serve The Lord and I consider it the highest human privilege that God saw fit to use me as his instrument and vessel in this way.

Well, time to get back on track as I cautioned in my last post. God put us here to glorify Him and we can never get off track as long as we work at doing this and surrender to Him.

Leave a Reply

